2003 Boys Track

2003 Boys Track Team

The 2003 Boys Track & Field Team had the most successful boys track & field season in Glen Rock High School history, capturing the school’s first Group, State Championship and being named North Jersey’s Boys Track Team of the Year.

In the years before 2003, Glen Rock’s boys track & field teams had enjoyed considerable success. In the previous eight years, from 1995 through 2002, under Head Coach Paul White, they had won six Bergen County Relays Team Championships, seven B-PSL Divisional Championships and seven Group, Bergen County Team Championships and seven Group, Sectional Championships.

Then, in 2003, led by Hall of Fame inductees Mark Hannon and Ryan McCann plus many other outstanding athletes that made Glen Rock competitive in every event, the 2003 track & field team captured the ultimate prize, a Group State Championship –- making it the first North Jersey boys track & field team to ever win a Group 1, State Championship – and earning that team’s induction into the Hall of Fame.

In April, the team won the school’s fifth straight Group 1, Bergen County Relays Championship with a dominating performance, finishing first in 6 of the 15 events and amassing a total score of 124 points, double the total points of the second place team.

They then had an undefeated (11-0) dual meet record and won the B-PSL Carpenter Championship with victories in 12 of the 16 events: Tom Gengler (discus and shot put), Robbie Grammer (400 and 400 hurdles), Hall of Fame inductee Mark Hannon (javelin and long jump), Hall of Fame inductee Ryan McCann (800 and 1,600), Chris Andretta (high jump), Jeff Berland (110 high hurdles), Timmy Murphy (pole vault) and Brian Schober, Mike Montone, Greg Mann and Tim Murphy (4×400 relay).  

They then won the Group 1, Bergen County Championship with members of the team scoring in 15 of the meet’s 16 events, including victories in 5 of those events:  Mark Hannon (100), Robbie Grammer (400), Ryan McCann (800 and 1,600) and Tim Murphy (pole vault). The team earned a total of 108.5 points, with its nearest competitor at 46 points.

In the following Group 1, Sectional Championship, the team outdid that performance, winning its fifth straight Sectional Championship with team members scoring in every one of the meet’s 16 events. Mark Hannon (100 and 200), Robbie Grammer (400) and Ryan McCann (800 and 1,600) took individual first place finishes and the team won the 1600 relay. The team’s total of 136 points outscored the combined score of the  second, third and fourth place teams – and set a Group 1, State Sectional record that has not been beaten since that year.

Finally, at the season-ending Group 1, State Championship, led by Ryan McCann’s victory in the 1,600 and strong performances by all, Glen Rock defeated all of the other Group 1 high schools in New Jersey and was crowned champion.

100 meters: Mark Hannon #5

800 Meters: Ryan McCann #3

1,600 meters: Ryan McCann #1

110 hurdles: Jeff Berland #3

Shot Put: Tom Gengler #6

Javelin: Chris Swarctz #3; Andrew Dagenais #5

Discus: Tom Gengler #4

High Jump: Chris Andretta #5

Pole Vault: Tim Murphy #4; Dean Leong #5

1,600 Relay: #4

In recognition of the accomplishments of the 2003 Boys Track & Field Team, The Record named it North Jersey’s Boys Track Team of the Year.

Several leaders of the 2003 track & field team graduated that year. Nonetheless, led by returning Ryan McCann, Chris Andretta, Jeff Berland, Andrew Dagenais and Tim Murphy, the 2004 track & field team repeated as Group 1, State Champions, giving Paul White a second consecutive championship in his final year as Head Coach.

Head Coach Paul White
Coach Alan Deaett
Coach Carl Johnson

Chris Andretta
Justin Bronner
Chris Cobb
Andrew Dagenais
Zach Emery
Ed Gengler
Robbie Grammer
Mark Hannon
Chris Kleinknecht
Dean Leong
Ryan McCann
Alex Morrone
Timmy Murphy
Evan Picone
Erik Stofberg
Mike VanGenderen

Mark Auslander
Ken Chin
Luciano Cofrancesco
Kevin Decker
Al Escalante
Tom Gengler
Dan Guariglia
Andrew Hirshman
Doug Korn
Greg Marr
Brian McCullough
JJ Mulholland
Ben Paris
Jeremy Rosenweig
Brendan Trotta
Marlon Yu

Billy Bergeroyan
Mike Clark
Nick Cuomo
Eddie DeSalvio
Matthew Frith
Luke Giegel
Nick Guarino
Gerry Kane
Mark Lee
Jeff Mauro
Mike Montone
Anthony Muller
Darius Pemberton
Brian Shober
Tyler Vanderbeck