1999 Girls Soccer

1999 Girls Soccer Team

The 1999 Glen Rock High School Girls Soccer team stands at the pinnacle of the eleven teams that have won or shared the New Jersey Girls Soccer State Championship.

Glen Rock’s girls soccer teams won the Group, North Jersey Championship in 1995, in 1996, in 1997 and in 1998. In three of those four years — 1995, 1996 and 1997– the subsequent State Championship game ended in a tie and Glen Rock was crowned Group, State Co-Champion. In 1998, the team lost in the State Championship game by the slimmest of margins, 1-0.

Seven of the 1998 starting eleven were seniors, meaning that the 1999 team was a uniquely very young team. However, the combination of the four returning starters (including senior midfielder Jody Gabel and junior defender Jenna Mike-Mayer) and key newcomers (including future Hall of Fame inductees forwards Leah Jerome and Kim Mineo) produced a team that delivered the most dominant girls soccer team in school history.

After easily winning the B-PSL King Championship, the Rockers dominated their opponents in the State Tournament. They defeated North Arlington by a score of 3-0 to win the Group 1, Section 1 Championship. (with Leah, Kim and senior midfielder Lauren Haner each scoring goals)  They then won the Group 1, North Jersey Championship by destroying North Warren by a score of 6-0. Leah scored four of those six goals, and Kim and junior defender Kristin Jerome scored one goal each.

In the state final, the Rockers dominated Rumson-Fair Haven. In the eighteenth minute, Kristin Jerome delivered a 30-yard pass to a diagonal running Kim Mineo that Kim headed into the upper left corner of Rumson’s goal. Glen Rock continued to shut down Rumson’s offense while generating multiple offensive attacks. Finally, with an assist from Leah Jerome, senior forward Kim Bonaguaro scored a second goal with seconds remaining in the game to make the final score 2-0.

The 1999 Girls Soccer Team finished the season with a 23-1-1 record, with its only loss in the All Group, Bergen County Tournament. It had an outstanding offense, with Leah producing 27 goals and 18 assists, Jodie producing 20 goals and 16 assists and Kim producing 21 goals and 10 assists, and the state’s best defense, allowing only three goals during the entire season.

Displaying the strength of this team, 13 players received B-PSL King honors. 8 of them were named to the 14 player First Team: senior Katie Singer (goalie); junior Kristin Jerome (defense); junior Jenna Mike-Mayer (defense); senior Jodie Gabel (midfield); senior Lauren Haner (midfield); senior Kim Bonaguaro (forward); freshman Leah Jerome (forward); and junior Elizabeth Tampe (forward). Sophomore Annie Lent (defense), sophomore Sarah Ruby (defense), junior Cheryl Andersen (midfield) and sophomore Kim Mineo (forward) were named to the Second Team. Junior Kristin Brady (forward) received Honorable Mention.

In addition, Jody Gabel and Jenna Mike-Mayer were named to the First Team, All-Suburban, Leah Jerome was named Freshman of the Year, and Head Coach and Hall of Fame Inductee Tracy Trobiano was named Coach of the Year by The Ridgewood-News. In addition, Kristin Jerome, Kim Bonafuaro and Kim Mineo were named to the Second Team.

Finally, Jody Gabel was named to the First Team, All-County, Jenna Mike-Mayer was named to the Second Team, All-County, and Kristin Jerome and Leah Jerome were both named to the Third Team, All-County by The Record. In addition, Kim Buonogaro,
Lauren Haner, Katie Singer and Elizabeth Tampe received Honorable Mention.

Coach Tracy Trobiano
Assistant Coach Art Erickson

Cheryl Andersen
Kelly Barron
Kim Bonafuaro
Kristen Brady
Kathy Callahan
Suzanne Danna
Kim Feeney
Jodie Gabel
Lauren Haner

Kristen Jerome
Leah Jerome
Annie Lent
Jenna Mike-Mayer
Kim Mineo
Laura Murray
Sarah Ruby
Kate Singer
Liz Tampe
Liz Volpe