1999 Football

1999 Football Team

Undefeated — 12-0.

League Champions and State Champions.

Ranked Number 4 in the State by the Newark Star Ledger.

Bergen Record Team of the Year (Group 1 and 2).

Ranked Number 2 by the Bergen Record (St Joe’s was ranked number I in Bergen County and the State.

Tony Karcich, football coach at St Joe’s, stated at the All-County dinner that he believed that the 1999 Glen Rock Football Team was better than St Joe’s!) -Coach Alan Deaett

Team scored 580 points (48 points per game) in the 1999 Season which is a New Jersey State record for the most points ever scored in New Jersey High School Football.

Team only allowed 30 points(2.5 points per game) on defense.

Team had 8 shutouts for the entire season.

Defensive team scored 12 touchdowns.

Special teams (punt and kickoff retums) also had 12 touchdowns.

Grant Adams was chosen to the Bergen Record All-Century team as a kick returner.

The Team beat New Milford 62-0 in the Quarter Final of the States and beat Secaucus 56-0 in the Semis.

Scott Stephen was chosen by the Newark Star Ledger as player of the Year in all of New Jersey.

Grant Adams and Scott Stephen were chosen First Team All State.

The Team had six players make the First Team All Bergen County: Andrew Romano, Scott Stephen, Grant Adams, Evan Tryforos, Owen Miehe and Leron Ancle.

Many Players from this team went on to play in college: Grant Adams-Boston College; Scott Stephen-Franklin and Marshall; Evan Tryforos-Columbia University (Captain); Dave Clark-Columbia University; Doug Cotto-Fairfield University; Brandon Vanderbeck-Fairfield University; Owen Miehe- Bates (Captain); Leron Ancle University of Massachusetts; Steve Boscia- Towson State; Tom Goodwin – Susquehanna.

Head Coach: Alan Deaett

Assisted by:

D.J. Nimphius, Jeff Kresch, Kevin Wallace, Brian Young, Mike O’Hagan, Rich Rosen

Grant Adams
Craig Agnello
Leron Ancle
Greg Anderson
Derek Barbara
Joe Barron
Kevin Bielen
Steve Boscia
Carlo Cella III
Dan Corey
Doug Cotto
Jim Crowley
Sean D’Arrigo
Rob DeChiaro
Paul Defrancesca
Matt Demartis
John Dorost
Brian Emes

Mike Feeney
Anthony Ferranti
Tom Gengler
Mike Gibbons
Tom Goodwin
Mark Hannon
JJ Hernandez
Ted Kluska
Jayson LaVorne
Jon Lees
Matt Malillo
Kyle Mallory
Michael Manges
John March
Owen Miehe
Brad Miller
Mike Montone
John O’Connor

Luke Oesterle
James Pascarelli
Mike Rivara
Andrew Romano
Patrick Ronanyne
Geoff Rose
Jay Rose
David Schlett
Chris Schwartz
Roberto Schwartz
Tom Serio
Scott Stephen
Bill Strauss
Evan Tryforos
Dan Tyberski
Brandon Vanderbeck
Scott Van Lenten
Paul Volpe
Tom Wright